Uncategorized

Assignment: Review

The first blog I’m going to review is found at Coffee and TV Blog

I chose this one because of its similar URL, and assumed it’d be similar to what I’m working to create here.  Clicking to the homepage gives this view:

Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 12.54.26 PM.png

I’m going to be quite honest, this isn’t a blog I particularly care for, and there’s a few reasons.  First, the use of an image as the background and then having images overlaid on top of it create an overwhelming and unclean visual affect.  There’s a lot, visuall going on.  There’s also a lot of colors that don’t quite correlate, including the mint, blue, and black colors that all seem to be working against each other.  In the header, there are a lot of links.  10 total, to be exact, and while I appreciate that this blog is organized and the writer has a lot to say, it’s an overwhelming amount to see when I don’t have a specific thing that I’m looking for.

When I go to the posts, I see a lot of self-deprecation, which quite frankly leaves me unwilling to read more into this blog.  What I notice a lot is the use of the word “just”, even in the description this is “just” the ramblings.  If the writer doesn’t think it’s worth the time, why should I?  I think this is an important note in moving forward with my own blog.

The next blog I’m going to examine is Classics and Craziness which is one I’m much more appreciative of.

Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 1.02.27 PM.png

I really like that this feels like a welcome page of sorts because the header fills almost the entire page, and I can tell there’s more if I continue to scroll down.  It has a great color theme, and while I’m not overly crazy about the font, it does stay the same throughout the blog.

I like that the organization for the blog is located within the posts themselves.  For instance, on the About Me page, there are links to further social media.  The My Reviews page gives me an organized click-through list of all the book and film reviews that have been posted.

What I would like is organization of the information.

Screen Shot 2016-09-29 at 1.06.35 PM.png

Here’s a chunk of the list of films, and near as I can tell there’s absolutely no organization to the list, either alphabetical or by date, and that’s really frustrating, even just for an aesthetic idea.

The posts themselves show a lot of individuality and her own opinion, which I really appreciate, however the self-deprecation is still apparent with the author as well, especially in the about me section.

My big takeaways from this assignment is that first my blog needs to be clean and organized, and that will make it visually appealing to the audience.  Secondly, I need to not doubt myself, and be confident in what I’m saying and who I am on this blog.

When I think about the type of visitor to my blog, I imagine it’s the type of people who are interested in films.  People who especially like knowing what others’ opinions on film are as well, and who are interested in what someone who is actively studying film production has to say about a film, and the industry as a whole.  People who spend their time on Netflix, indecisively trying to find something new to watch.  People who don’t mind going to see a movie alone because they care so much about seeing it.  People who watch awards and who have actually watched a lot of the films that are nominated.  People who watch films.

Leave a Reply

